Watch With Me! Day 04: (500) Days of Summer

My dad’s roommate played World of Warcraft all day yesterday and used up most of the internet bandwidth, so I couldn’t get online. I felt like I was in 1997. Don’t make me go back…

Last year I stumbled upon (500) Days of Summer. I honestly expected another run-of-the-mill romantic comedy, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I saw. And then I watched it again.

And again.

And again.

And I fell in love.

Directed by Marc Webb and starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Katy Perry Zooey Deschanel, (500) Days is about a boy who meets a girl and how said girl fucks with his mind for over a year and a half. You know, like every relationship. It was a critical and commercial success of 2009, and Tumblr users everywhere still reblog posts about the movie to this day.

It’s hard for me to criticize a movie that I love so much. I obsessed over this movie for a good while, and watched it whenever I did just about anything. When I would get sick? I’d watch it. When I was bored? I’d watch it. When I finished working out? I’d watch it. Christmas Eve? I’d watch it! When I watched it again for the purpose of this project, I sought to really deconstruct it and find the flaws I couldn’t see the first several thousand times.

And I couldn’t.

This blog project’s intent was not to review movies — you can get reviews anywhere on the internet. The point was to watch one movie one day and write what I like, what I didn’t like, what I would have done, etc. I can tell you right now, I can’t do any of that for this movie. I love it too damn much.

I fell in love with the characters and the journey they take us through. I’ve been in Tom’s shoes before, and I know exactly how painful it is. It’s a tale as old as time, yet it was presented here in such a refreshing way that I have to less-than-three it.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel are some of the best leading people in film today. They radiate right off the screen and they become people you love, and people you would love to be around. There are no villains in this film, which the opening sequence brilliantly makes clear. Which leads me to the film’s soundtrack, as Regina Spektor’s “Us” served as the intro.

The soundtrack is an indie lover’s wet dream. I use the movie’s soundtrack constantly as my inspiration and background to my own life. The Smith’s “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” is on before I go out. Doves’ “There Goes The Fear” is for when I walk around campus. Wolfmother’s “Vagabond” gets me through big projects. It’s an incredible, well-put together soundtrack that tells its own unique story, a story that the listen can write and live themselves. The soundtrack highlights the film, adds that extra “oomph” yet rightfully stands on its own.

I couldn’t really do this today. Half of it was because of my dad’s roommate’s WoW marathon, but also because I simply can’t deconstruct this movie like I hoped. I don’t want to sing the praises of the film too much, because there are flaws in film. Not everyone likes this movie, and many have problems with it.

But for the life of me, I can’t figure out what they are.

Leave a Reply

